We have the winners of the 3rd Open Fotosub Online!

Rafael Fernández Caballero from Madrid has been given the award for Best Photographer of the 3rd edition of the Online Open Fotosub, promoted by the Cabildo of El Hierro in the Meridian Island.

The result was known last Saturday, 20th of October, during the closing ceremony of the 22nd Open Fotosub of El Hierro, celebrated in La Restinga between the 19th and the 21st of October, which also held the IV Cazafotosub Open of Biodiversity. The champion collected the prize of 3000€ from Belén Allende, president of the Insular Cabildo. It so happens that Rafael Fernández, current Underwater Photography world champion, was member of the professional jury in the second edition held last year, and after judging the wonderful images, he decided that he had to participate himself this year to discover the diving of the Island of El Hierro for the first time. The prize to Second Best Underwater Photographer with an award of 1500€ was given to Sacha Lobenstein, Spanish underwater photography champion in 2017 and who was also one of the professional jurors in the previous edition of the Online Open Fotosub Island of El Hierro. The participants are not the only evidence of the high level of this contest, but also the jury selected each year to judge the photos that get submitted to the event.

In this year’s edition the professional jury was formed by Silvia Boccato (Italy), Italian Underwater Photography champion in 2010, also a nature and underwater fashion photographer, Jesús Javier Madinaveitia (Lanzarote), Champion of the El Hierro Open in 1999 and 2000, champion of the Mar de Lava competition in 2015 and colaborator of specialized magazines, Juan Cuetos (Galicia) professional nature photographer and champion of Asturias, Xavier Safont (Manresa) Spanish Champion who has been present in three world championships as for jury in one of the world championships, and finally Jesús Osorio Ramos (Marbella) current Spanish Champion, Champion of Andalucia three years in a row and European Subchampion. All of them had the difficult job of evaluating the 183 images that made it to the final after the five months during which the contest was held. The jury did not hesitate to outstand the beauty and originality of the photos submitted by the photographers.

 As for the prizes given out to the various categories, the champion Rafael Fernández was awarded with the prizes for second best photo in the “Vertebrate”, “Invertebrate” and “Algae” categories. Sacha Lobenstein was given the prize for best “UW Scenery”, while Joan Costa came in second place in this same category. Meanwhile Jesús Yeray Delgado Dorta achieved the prizes for best “Vertebrate” and “Invertebrate” photo. Tanausú Motas from Tenerife was given the prize for best “Algae”, the first award in the “Compact camera” category went to Alberto Álvarez Marcos from Gran Canaria followed by Esperanza Guerra Fernández from Tenerife. Each of the categories was gifted with a prize of 750 euros for the photo in first place and 250 euros for the finalist.

 A total of 28 photographers have participated in third edition of this online format of the famous Open Fotosub of El Hierro, with 392 photographs submitted to the contest. You can see all the prized images in following link.

 We would like to take the opportunity to congratulate all the prized photographers for their fantastic images and thank all the photographers who have participated in this third edition of the Online Open Fotosub “El Hierro, Un Puerto de Vida”. You can keep informed about future events and updates at the official web of the Online Open Fotosub Island of El Hierro.

 You can also follow us on the social networks: