Julio Días San Gil from Tenerife, who had already been awarded with July’s best photo, has been awarded as Best Photographer of the 1st Online Open Fotosub Isla de El Hierro in a very tight vote.

The proffesional jury of the event, including David Barrio (Gran Canaria), Eduardo Sorensen (Chile), Juan Miguel Alemany (Tenerife), Enrique Talledo (Cantabria) and Rui Guerra (Portugal), have decided with their votes that Julio Díaz deserved to be awarded Best Photographer of the event by getting the best average score in the UW Scenery, Vertebrate, Invertebrate and Algae categories, followed very closely by Carmelo Andrades Bethencourt from Gran Canaria. Julio was also finalist in the Vertebrate category, won by Oscar Morillas García, while Carmelo was also finalist in the category of Invertebrates where Yeray Delgado from Tenerife won first place.

Oscar Morillas repeated his first position in the category of UW Scenery, followed by Francisco José Van Baumberghen from La Palma. The Czech photographer Anna Jetmarova was proclaimed winner of the Algae category, where Francisco José Van Baumberghen was again finalist. Meanwhile, the award for the best photo with a Compact Camera went to Pilar Muñiz García, Pedro Sarmiento being second. Pedro was also finalist in the Video category, but the winner was Juan Raya Rodríguez from Tenerife.

Each of the contest’s categories is awarded with a prize of 1.000€, 750€ for the winner and 250€ for the finalist, meanwhile, the Best Photographer of the 1st Online Open Fotosub Isla de EL Hierro will awarded with the grand prize of 2.000€ and 1.000€ will go to the photographer in second place. From here we would like to send our most sincere congratulations to all the awarded participants for their excellent work, and also thank all the photographers and videographers for participating in this grand event.

You can see all the awarded images in this link

© Julio Díaz San Gil • Best collection of the I Open Fotosub Online Isla de El Hierro